Research Databases

Use these databases below to find and research for your school projects. Use your library card number to access the databases.


Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile: Search through reference book articles and academic journal articles. Subjects covered include science, technology, medicine, the arts, theology, and literature. Get stock market information for classes like Economics.

Grolier Databases

The databases at this site include "America the Beautiful," which has articles on US cities, states and Presidents; "Lands and Peoples," including articles on countries, cultures and current events, also including an atlas and almanacs; "Multimedia Encyclopedia," with lots of rich media; and "The New Book of Popular Science," with articles in the areas of science, technology and medicine.

Secrets of the Sequence

Watch videos from Virginia Commonwealth University on life sciences, especially biology, health, and forensic science.

Topic Search

Search for information using EBSCO's Primary Search, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and Literary Reference Center. You can also research the books and authors you are learning about in school. You can search by author or by book title. You can also read entire classic books, like The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, online. This database also includes a research guide to help you with your reports and term papers, And Search through periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.

Web Guides of Finding Dulcinea

Finding Dulcinea is a collection of over 500 web guides. Using web guides is like having your own librarian. The web guide collects resources from around the Internet on a topic of your choice.